Use the Maintenance Mode function to specify schedules, either one time or repeated, where you want to suppress monitoring. Typically you would do this when servers/devices are going to be unavailable due to some planned maintenance and you do not want to monitor these nor generate any alert notifications during maintenance down times.
Create a New Maintenance Schedule
- Click the Settings option in the main navigation.
- Click Maintenance. The Maintenance Mode sub tab will be selected by default.
- The Maintenance Mode Configuration pane will appear.
- Existing Schedules will display any current or scheduled maintenance periods including the starting date/time, the duration, and whether the schedule is repeated.
- The servers/devices affected by the particular maintenance schedule are listed when you click Edit.
- Existing Schedules will display any current or scheduled maintenance periods including the starting date/time, the duration, and whether the schedule is repeated.
- To add a new schedule, click Add Schedule. In the dialog that opens, define the date and time when you want the new maintenance schedule to be in effect.
- Date is MM/DD/YYYY; and time is HH:MM in 24 hour format.
- When the current time on the MonitorIT Server equals the Start Date/Time, the maintenance period is automatically in effect and the given monitoring and alerting is suppressed on the associated servers/devices.
- Use the Duration field to specify how long you want the maintenance period to be in effect.
- At the end of the duration, the maintenance period automatically expires and monitoring and alerting is enabled for the associated servers/devices.
- If there is no Repeat Every field parameter defined, the schedule is deleted.
- Click the Repeat field to enable the drop downs and specify if you want the maintenance schedule to be automatically repeated and rescheduled whenever it expires.
- This field should be blank if you only want to define a maintenance schedule that is effective one time. Schedules that do not repeat are automatically deleted when they expire.
- The Monthly choice reschedules for the same day of the month in the appropriate succeeding month; for example, a Repeat Every of 1 month would reschedule say February 6 to March 6, and March 6 to April 6, and so on.
- The Groups: Servers/Devices Tree lists all eligible servers and devices that can be put into maintenance mode.
- Expand a primary group and see its associated servers/devices.
- Click the checkbox to select or unselect a server/device for this Maintenance Schedule.
- When the new Maintenance Schedule is configured as desired, click Save Schedule.
Modify an Existing Maintenance Schedule
- To edit an existing maintenance schedule, under the Existing Schedules section, select the maintenance schedule you would like to modify, and then select Edit.
- To delete an existing maintenance schedule, under the Existing Schedules section, select the maintenance schedule you would like to remove, and then click Delete icon. A prompt will appear asking you to confirm the deletion of the Maintenance Schedule, select OK to confirm.